Job Hunting Sucks

I graduated from my program in June, and I have have been applying for jobs since may, No luck.

I’ve been on a few interviews and it seems that the employer is fond of me.  They always have a smile and tell me all about the job, when I would start, I’ve even been introduced to a few people in the office, all good signs.  To my dismay I always get that phone call or e-mail saying ” I’m sorry but we have given this opportunity to someone more qualified” or “This position is now unavailable”.  I went as far as to Google myself and see if there is anything negative posted about me or maybe something else that would cost me the job;  I have discovered nothing of the sort.

So my motto right now seems to be “To get a job I need experience, to get a experience I need a job”.  Hey employers cut a girl a break will you please.  I am a hard worker, and all I need is a foot in the door.   I’m a mom I can’t afford to go months without employment, and it’s not like I can just go apply for random job’s, I am only able to work during certain times of the day.

To make matters worse, I don’t have an extensive list of references,  I have been a mom for the last 4 1/2 years, Employers tend not to extend references past 2 or 3 years.  I have numerous written references from professors, but over the phone verbal references I really only have one manager, and one co-worker.  Unfortunately some places deem 4 written references and 2 verbal references not to be enough.

I completely revamped my whole resume and cover letter, I have had my mother (who is highly respected in her field as a project manager of IT) and other person who evaluate resumes consistently to review it, and none of these distinguished people have found an issue with my resume or cover letter.  So my question I guess is, does anyone have any tips or advice for me.  I’m open to anything ?

Leave a comment